Don’t Expect Pretty Cure: Max Heart on YTV

PC

This was an ad on YTV.com this week. Of all the evil that Natalie and Hannah have faced, nothing has prepared them for the horror of Voltar.

Today YTV aired a five episode marathon of Toei’s 49 episode Pretty Cure anime series. This marathon ended up concluding the first season of the mega hit series (in Japan). However, when the series aired in Japan, directly after the end credits layed a preview for the sequel series, Pretty Cure: Max Heart, that aired on Japanese TV the week following the first season’s conclusion. YTV’s broadcast of episode 49, “Fight for the Future”, didn’t include this preview. Instead, after the end credits, and brief pause on a black screen occured, before the Toei logo displayed, and the next program aired.

Given the history that the show has had on the channel (for those who don’t know, the show was often tossed around the schedule, and put on a few rather long hiatuses), I can’t say that there is much hope of Pretty Cure: Max Heart airing on the channel.

We can’t say YTV didn’t try. While the schedule shifting probably hurt the show more than it helped, they clearly were looking to aid the show gain an audience. Heck, it’s one of the few anime series YTV produced ads for in this modern era (the only others being for Beyblade: Metal Fusion, and the ever green Pokemon). The way it ended too was not pretty (pun not intended). After a two month long hiatus the series returned in a five episode marathon, that one can’t help but see as a way to burn off the remaining episode order, and provide closure to the series viewers (of which that final episode comes through in spades). It sadly seems no matter what, Natalie and Hannah just weren’t able to capture the success of Serena and her Sailor Scouts.

Pretty Cure Max Heart

Toei's sequel series to Pretty Cure, Pretty Cure: Max Heart. Don't expect this on YTV.

For those who like to remain optimistic, maybe Toei removed that preview themselves knowing well ahead of time that Max Heart wasn’t going to air the following week? Heck, maybe YTV didn’t put a “Season Finale” or “Series Finale” tag on the above ad because they will announce Max Heart in their upcomming fall upfronts? I’d say don’t hold your breath on that.

Source: I watched the show, bro.

    • Mike-Sempai
    • August 1st, 2010

    I wouldn’t be so sure, Michelle Molineux the voice of Honoka/Hannah aka Cure White has on her Facebook Info Page I Quote “and voicing Hannah, a young girl given powers to fight against the Dark Zone, in the English Dub of Pretty Cure (Toei Animations, YTV Canada, Season 1 and 2).” Un Quote, She says Season 2?
    Could She Have Made a Mistake, Or Slipped Out The Anwser Most Fans are Very Curious To Find Out?

    • It’s very possible that by Season 2, they mean after episode 26. As TV channels tend to order in 26 episode batches.

      They may have dubbed Max Heart, but it wouldn’t be the first time a series was dubbed and never released. Even other Toei USA series, such as Slam Dunk, and Air Master, were in the exact same situation.

      At the end of the day, I don’t know for sure. What I do know is that I feel there won’t be any more Pretty Cure on YTV. However, I have been wrong in the past.

  1. pretty cure max heart name jhojarish bad wawa
    WHO gma 60

    • PreCure_Lyoko
    • March 19th, 2011

    They should try it in the US! don’t they know how many fans they already have here?

    • pretty-cure
    • June 28th, 2011

    Yea I think they should try airing Pretty Cure in the US.I know there’s alot of fans here that want to see it on tv.I dont care what channel they would put it on even if it’s cartoon network or Disney whatever!They should air it here.I heard that they’re supposed to air Pretty Cure in the US sometime this year in 2011.I hope thats true!!!

    • I heard that too. In fact, there are some English trailers on youtube for Pretty Cure, Pretty Cure Splash Star and Yes! Pretty Cure 5. And I saw something that said late 2011-early 2012. We just have to wait and see.

    • Eileen-san
    • September 7th, 2011

    This is what I said:
    Dear YTV,
    This would be the third letter I have sent you, so I apologize for me being any incontinence. But, I am determined to get my favourite show back on YTV; Pretty Cure.
    I know the show wasn’t popular enough to take it off air, but it isn’t for me. There are other people who enjoy this, too. But, I can see why no one could watch it or even find out about it. When it first aired on March 6th, 2009, it started at 7:30 A.M. Most school students awake at 8:00 P.M. And it didn’t help when it was only on Friday’s.
    Afterwards, Pretty Cure stopped playing. During the summer of 2009, Pretty Cure played Monday to Thursday. Thursday showed the newest episode, while Monday to Wednesday show repeats. By episode 31, it stopped and was pulled from the YTV schedule.
    After some time, according to Zap2It, Pretty Cure will be on hiatus after 44 airs for at least two weeks.
    From October to January, Pretty Cure was unheard of. But it is understandable because of the Christmas holidays. On January 9th, 2010 at 12:30 P.M., Pretty Cure continued its series. That is until episode 44.
    Episode 44 was the last episode to air out of 49. By July, episodes 45-49 aired. And that completed the series.
    With the timing for Pretty Cure to start was unreasonable. Not many people are up at that time to see it. And the many breaks in between of the series could have caused people to lose hope in the show ever coming back on TV. But I never did.
    I still remember when I first saw it. I woke up half an hour early for Pokémon. So I decided to watch whatever was on. I’m not too fond of many shows on YTV, and it was half way through whatever was on so I decided to see what was on. That’s when I saw it. The way girls fight is not too seen because of the shows that are for mainly boys. The episode I saw was episode 2, ‘Cleaning up the City’. After that day, I woke up every day—including weekends—at 7:30 A.M., and waited to see it. Without the internet, I was unable to find out when it was on. It wasn’t for a little while until I found out that it was on only on Friday’s.
    I waited all those months. Waiting for it to come back on. I looked it up every chance I had to see what was going on with it. To see when it would come on next. Within those time breaks, I was able to find out that my hobby—and only hobby—was sewing. So I made dolls out of felt of the three creatures shown in the shows—Mipple, Mepple and Porun. I made a binder with all kinds of information and latest news about Pretty Cure. I even made costumes of ‘Cure Black’ and ‘Cure White’. Some would say I love the show. Some say I admire it. Other say I’m obsessed. But whatever is said to me, I would not stop waiting for the show to come on, so I could see it. And I still am.
    Please take what I am saying to heart. I truly wish and plead for some way to get Pretty Cure back on TV one last time. At a good time so viewers can see it. The creators Toei Animation hit it off with Sailor Moon and Dragon Ball. So why not Pretty Cure? Sailor Moon and Pretty Cure aren’t so different from each other.
    So, please find some way, any way, to get it back. Please. I found out that it is one thing that truly brings me happiness at my home. If there are eight seasons made in Japan, why can’t the first become as popular? So, please, do everything in your power to bring it back and give it one last chance to become a hit like it should be. Thank you.
    And, please reply to this letter by telling me what you think as soon as you receive it.
    Thank you.

    • Eileen-san
    • September 7th, 2011

    That was a letter I sent to YTV. I dont think this message posted, but here is what was supposed to be said before: This is completely unfair. Sailor Moon was probably one of the most popular anime shows in its time (not too sure because I wasn’t born) but Pretty Cure isn’t so different. I mean, look at all the Pretty Cure seasons outfits. Max Heart’s resemble the Sailor Scouts. And some of the characters resemble those of Sailor Moon’s. Pretty Cure wasn’t too popular, I understand that, but I was pushed to write 3 letters to YTV hoping, praying, that it will come one, or at least re-run the original series to gain some popularity without starting at bad times and stopping in the middle of the series. I am going to post my recent letter right after this one:::

      • English PrettyCure
      • September 17th, 2011

      Umm, I’ve just been on:
      http://www.toei-animation.com/en

      It has Pretty Cure, Max Heart, Splash Star and Yes! Pretty Cure 5 trailers all in English. Could this possibly be the return we’ve all been looking for?!!!

        • Eileen
        • September 28th, 2011

        It is a possibility…

        • Everyonever
        • January 22nd, 2012

        These are actually trailers for dubbing companies, to try and get them to dub the series, instead of actual dub trailers

      • English PrettyCure
      • September 17th, 2011

      Here’s the Direct link to the Pretty Cure page and related down the side!

      http://www.toei-animation.com/en/catalog/prettycure

      You may think they sound odd, but really it’s the audio Lagging behind!

      • I wouldn’t hold my breath. The trailer for the first series’ dub uses the Japanese names “Hanoka” and “Nagisa”, where as the actual dub referred to them as “Hannah” and “Natalie”. As well, the voice actresses for Natalie appears to be different than the one used in the TV dub. This leads me to believe that it’s from the pilot Toei commissioned prior to dubbing the entire series. We know they actually dubbed a few pilot episodes of the later Pretty Cure series with placeholder casts, and that’s likely what those dub trailers are based on.

        This isn’t to say that it isn’t possible for these series to receive an English dub, just that I wouldn’t hold my breath. There’s a dub trailer for Dr. Slump on that site, and AFAIK that show hasn’t aired in English anywhere in the world outside of some pilots.

    • English PrettyCure
    • September 17th, 2011

    Umm, I’ve just been on:
    http://www.toei-animation.com/en

    It has Pretty Cure, Max Heart, Splash Star and Yes! Pretty Cure 5 trailers all in English. Could this possibly be the return we’ve all been looking for?!!!

    • Cure Moonlight
    • February 14th, 2012

    @English PrettyCure. I don’t think though’s are real, for the fact, this was made by a man on Youtube. The fact that they are already dubbed, and didn’t even wait at least a year to make the other “dub”. Plus, The sound effects are too weird. And if they are really going to be dubbed, WHAT IF THEY ARE GONNA BE DUBBED BY 4KIDS!???? NO NO NO!. But seriously, do you think thoughs people would keep the names the same, It’s 4kids. And Cure Blooms voice is too squeeky, though Mai’s voice is really cool.

    • Cure Moonlight
    • February 14th, 2012

    Sorry, when i ment that they were all ready dubbed, i ment that the people already made the previews and didn’t wait atleast a year to make the other previews, do you think they would reallly dub them at once and show the previews at once. too weird

    • Adoriana Akai
    • November 24th, 2014

    Waaait! WHY IS IT NOT IN THE UK ANYMORE!!!? WE HAVE NICK AND CARTOON NETWORK. WE SHOULD HAVE LIKE A PRETTY CURE CHANNEL. ALL THE PRETTY CURE EVEN IF THERE SUBED!!!! BRING PRETTY CURE TO THE UK AGAIN. IT WAS ON POPGIRL IN 2010! WHY DID YOU DO THIS POP GIRL. WWHHHHHYYYYY!!!!!?

    • Zerone
    • April 9th, 2015

    Pretty cure (Precure) in Philippines tagalog dubbed and aired on hero tv started in 2008 finished aired early 2009.but the max heart never aired.

    • Zerone
    • April 9th, 2015

    Zerone :
    Pretty cure (Precure) in Philippines tagalog dubbed and aired on hero tv started in 2008 finished aired early 2009.but the max heart never aired.

    • Zerone
    • April 9th, 2015

    Nagisa Misumi and Honoka Yukshiro are kind different on English Natalie Blackstone and Hannah Whitehouse.Kujou Hikari (Max Heart) in English name?

    • Jazzy
    • July 6th, 2017

    I’m not going to lie, I don’t know when this review was written but I love Pretty Cure. I did a marathon of season 1 and loved every episode, but after doing some intense searching it seems as though Max Heart is not in English. That’s for me and others who can’t keep up with the speedy subtitles. It’s probably too much to hope the show will be put in english later. This show cakes out a few years ago didn’t it?

    • I wrote this post back in 2010 and as of 2017, Pretty Cure: Max Heart hasn’t aired on YTV. As far as I know, it hasn’t been dubbed into English either.

      If you’re interested in something like this, a Pretty Cure spin off, called Smile Pretty Cure, was dubbed into English as Glitter Force. It’s available as a Netflix exclusive in most regions. The followup season, Doki Doki Pretty Cure, seems to also be getting dubbed into English.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment