Future Card Buddyfight Premieres On Teletoon Next Week

buddyfightkeyart Almost a year ago I wrote about Future Card Buddyfight. To tell you the truth, I wasn’t expecting to ever write about it again. Japanese TCG manufacturer Bushiroad launched the cross-media property globally last year, with the tie-in anime running premieres through Youtube and other VOD venues. If that strategy wasn’t weird enough for a kids merchandise property, Bushiroad has been providing an English dub produced by Calgary’s Bluewater Studios hours after the Japanese premiere. Now the series is heading to Teletoon, according to Zap2it and the channel’s own schedule. Things are set to kick off on Thursday, January 8th at 7AM. It looks like Teletoon will become Buddyfight‘s first broadcast partner outside of Asia.

Animated by OLM and Xebec, Future Card Buddyfight is set in the year 2030 in Japan’s new capital of Cho Tokyo. Humans get along with monsters from a parallel world called Shinkinkai. From there, select humans and monsters partner up to become “Buddies” and play a trading card game to determine the fate of the world. A young boy named Gao, and his “Buddy”, Drum Bunker Dragon, dare to be the best. Xebec lists the first series as consisting of 64 episodes. That should mean it’ll run until April online/in Japan. Given a second year of Buddyfight anime has been confirmed, I imagine the show will enter a new arc after that batch of episodes.

This does make me wonder how things will play out in the future. Teletoon will be exactly a year behind the web simulcast. Will Bushiroad just have both run separately or will they begin region locking future web uploads? If Buddyfight‘s run on Teletoon is successful, could Bushiroad’s first kids franchise, Cardfight Vanguard, be heading to non-net connected small screens too? That property recently received a revamp in Japan, and it’s set for an English web debut this weekend.

Future Card Buddyfight is one of those shows that dubs its Japanese music, but with the Japanese singers. I guess this is going to air on Canadian TV.

Thanks, Anime-Ash!

  1. Intresting

    • ambimunch
    • January 4th, 2015

    I’m beginning to think if real anime ever does return to Canada, it might be on Teletoon :/

    • ambimunch
    • January 4th, 2015

    milkkarten :
    Intresting

    Did you used to be on the YTV boards by any chance?

    • Ambimunch I just figured out yo’re living dreams from YTV’s now extinct message board from anime. Yes, you’re deductions were correct, I am indeed “katalyst”. I just noticed( 1 year later) you replied to one of my messages asking me who I was Lool…Sorry I got caught up with so much other things in life over the past years.

      Anyways Just thought I’d keep in touch with you, do you have anything I can add you to? I have a feeling we share a lot in common and probably live close to each other ( Toronto- Scarborough here)…if you want to keep in touch or chat just message me back =D and we can catch up! Perhaps bbm, or some other sort of social media platform..thanks

      • OK added! I’m sending you a message right now =D

    • Anime-Ash
    • February 2nd, 2015

    Great news! After almost a full decade, I believe since 2005 during the beginning of Advanced Battle, Canada and the US will have same day premieres of Pokemon. Starting this Saturday, Pokemon The Series XY-Season 2 will premiere on Teletoon this Saturday at 12:00pm, while the same season will premiere on CN USA this Saturday at 8:00am. So excited, hopefully it remains like that throughout the entire season!!

    • Ambimunch I just figured out you’re living dreams from YTV’s now extinct message board from anime. Yes, you’re deductions were correct, I am indeed “katalyst”. I just noticed( 1 year later) you replied to one of my messages asking me who I was Lool…Sorry I got caught up with so much other things in life over the past years.

      Anyways Just thought I’d keep in touch with you, do you have anything I can add you to? I have a feeling we share a lot in common and probably live close to each other ( Toronto- Scarborough here)…if you want to keep in touch or chat just message me back =D and we can catch up! Perhaps bbm, or some other sort of social media platform..thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

